Public Interest Accountability Committee
News Date : 24th January 2020

The Public Interest and Accountability Committee (PIAC) has elected Mr. Noble Wadzah of the Civil Society & Community-Based Organisation’s (CBOs) as the new Chairman and Prof. Akosua Darkah, who represents Independent Policy Think Tanks, as the Vice Chairperson.

PIAC, established in 2011, under the Petroleum Revenue Management Act (Act 815) and mandated to among others monitor compliance with the Act is required to elect a Chair to lead the affairs of the Committee.

Section 54 (4) of the PRMA states “The committee members shall elect their own chairperson from among the members at their first meeting.” In line with this provision, the reconstituted Committee, has unanimously elected to the two members to steer the affairs of the Committee for the next one year.

The newly elected Chairman and Vice Chairperson replaces Dr. Steve Manteaw and Dr. Thomas Kojo Stephens whose tenure of office ended this year, respectively.

Mr. Noble Wadzah is expected to serve in his new capacity for a year while Prof. Akosua Darkah has about two years more to serve on the Committee.

Source : Kizito Cudjoe | B&FT