Public Interest Accountability Committee
News Date : 28th September 2021

Membership of the Public Interest and Accountability Committee (PIAC) has been reconstituted following the expiration of the tenure of some Members.

The new Members, who were sworn in together with some old Members who had their tenure renewed by their nominating institutions, took the official oath and the oath of secrecy in Accra on Tuesday, 28th September, 2021.

The former Vice Chairperson of PIAC, Professor Akosua Darkwah, who was the representative of the Independent Policy Research Think Tanks, has been replaced by Mrs Clara Beeri Kasser-Tee. Odeefuo Amoakwa Buadu VIII has also joined the Committee as the representative of the National House of Chiefs replacing Ogyeahoho Yaw Gyebi II.

The old Members who were re-nominated are Professor Kwame Adom- Frimpong, representing the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG), Mr Nasir Alfa Mohammed of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA) and Mr Bashiru Abdul-Razak of the Ghana Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (GHEITI). The representative of the Ghana Journalist Association (GJA), Mr Osei Kwadwo Adow was not available and would, therefore, be sworn in later.

A Deputy Minister of Finance, Mr John Kumah reiterated government’s commitment to supporting PIAC to carry out its mandate effectively.

He charged the new Members to see their nomination as a call to public service, and they should endeavor to help fulfil the mandate of PIAC to ensure that citizens benefitted from the country’s petroleum resources.

Speaking on behalf of the committee after the swearing in, the Former Chairman of PIAC, Professor Kwame Adom-Frimpong, urged government to take action on PIAC’s repeated recommendations to ensure effective and efficient use of petroleum revenues.

PIAC is a statutory body mandated with oversight responsibility of the management of the country’s petroleum resources.

Source : PIAC Communications