Public Interest Accountability Committee
News Date : 28th September 2021

Mr John Kumah, the Deputy Minister of Finance, has urged the newly inaugurated Board Members of Public Interest and Accountability Committee to execute their mandate to ensure that citizens benefit from the exploitation of the petroleum resources.

Mr Kumah said "your appointment is a call to public service and I am confident that you will justify the trust that your nominating institutions, the government and people of Ghana have reposed in your diverse expertise and capacity".

The Deputy Minister of Finance said this on Tuesday at the Inauguration of five new members of of the 13-member PIAC board in Accra.

He said the Committee had applied hard work and determination to the execution of its mandate since its establishment, stressing that its work had impacted positively on the management and use of petroleum revenues in the country.

"Government’s recognition of this is demonstrated not only in ensuring stable financial support to its programmes and providing office accommodation for the Secretariat but even to the extent that the President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo was present himself to launch PIAC’s 10th anniversary celebration on March 25, 2021 in Accra", he said.

Mr Kumah said President Akufo-Addo had reiterated that government would continue to support PIAC in its work and stressed that the Ministry's doors remained open to PIAC for engagement and collaboration while respecting PIAC’s independence as enshrined in the Act.

The PIAC was established by Section 51 of the Petroleum Revenue Management Act, 2011 (Act 815) as amended and inaugurated on September 15, 2011 with the mandate of ensuring transparency and accountability in the management and use of petroleum revenues in Ghana.

Professor Kwame Adom- Frimpong, the Former Chairman of PIAC, thanked President Akufo-Addo for the confidence reposed in them and pledged to work according to the mandates of the Act.

The rest of the members are Mr Nasir Alfa Mohammed, Ghana Bar Association; M. Bashiru Abdul-Razak, Ghana Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative; Mrs Clara Beeri Kasser-Tee, Independent Policy Research Think Tanks and Odeefuo Amoakwa Buadu VIII, National House of Chiefs.

Source : Ghana News Agency